Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews | Testimonials
  

 



Kawasaki Concours 14
Review page




Here are Concours 14 reviews taken from my facebook page....

https://www.facebook.com/Ivans-Performance-Products-163052890467739/



Barry Carl reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
April 26 2018 ·

This is my review of Ivan’s Concours 14 ecu flash.

I am not a techie. Although graphs, tables, and charts are available on Ivan’s web site to support my experience,
I won’t be referencing them because I don’t completely understand them and it would be disingenuous for me to use them as evidence for my riding impressions.

Also, although I’ve been riding for decades and I’m used to big bikes – after years on a Yamaha XS1100, I put 150k on a Honda ST1100 before moving on and
rode around Europe on a BMW R1200 RT – this is my first Kawi.

That having been said, there’s a huge positive difference between the behavior of the ecu on my 2016 C14 before and after the flash.
The first thing I noticed was the throttle response, which went from lagging and slow to immediate and zippy.

It made the bike feel more nimble. I was surprised that the flash could and would affect handling. Acceleration went from labored to light speed.
It feels like a different motorcycle.
Subjectively, riding it post-flash is a lot more fun. How’s that for a technical analysis? I mean, what’s the metric for fun?

Low-speed handling improved dramatically. No more surging, herky jerky throttle in slow traffic – a definite plus on my frequent trips into Manhattan.
Lower gears smoothed out considerably. Way less stress on me in stop-and-go situations. Deceleration also smoothed out by a lot.
No more engine grab when I let go of the throttle. Shifting is easier and smoother, especially from 1st gear into 2nd, and downshifting is smoother as well.

Maintaining speed and accelerating in top gear feels effortless like it’s not working hard anymore. Vibration is substantially reduced too, almost like an electric motor.
The bike runs cooler. By a lot. No more ‘bake the rider’. Grateful for that.

Gas mileage improved considerably.
And it seems that there’s more hp at any given speed so the engine revs lower to achieve the same speed as before the flash, hence better mileage.
Since this bike sucks up premium gas like it’s going out of style, I appreciate that.

The engine catches more quickly on cold starts. It was pretty quick before the flash, but it’s another thing that I have noticed.
All things considered, the ecu flash was definitely worth the bucks. And it only took about ten minutes. And I got a hat and t-shirt, so swag to boot. Not bad.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Kim Guidry reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
April 22, 2018 ·

I had just been to bike week in Daytona on my c14 and had a great trip (900 miles each way).
I have been tweaking this bike for 2 years with seat , handle bars , slip-on , highway pegs, etc.
After reading about the ECU flashes that would improve shifting and the fuel cut causing it, I wanted to try it.

After looking at all the people doing the flashes I picked Ivan due to his experience and equipment.
Yes I called and talked with him and sealed the deal. Its worked just as he told me , the bike is better all the way around.
If I ever need an ECU flash and Ivan has one, that's where its going. Thank You Ivan , your the real deal.

Lance Guidry

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kerry Brodigan reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
February 21, 2018 at 9:13pm ·



Ivan was excellent to work with. Very professional and knowledgeable. The ECU for my C14 has turned it into a different machine (for the better).
It shifts smoother, the jerky throttle is gone, and the bike is just overall better. Thanks for the awesome work Ivan!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scott Sheaffer reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star

November 15, 2017

I just had my 2015 Concours 14 flashed by Ivan's. I went out for a quick test ride and ended up being gone for several hours.
The bike runs cooler, smoother, with a whole new authority. It makes power everywhere and the midrange, in particular, is just incredible.

My very first impressions were driveability like a spotlessly tuned carbureted bike.
There is cohesiveness between the throttle, motor, and chassis. There is authority and tightness in the exhaust note, but it is not louder.
Engine braking is reduced and the transition from zero throttle to barely on is very much like carbureted. This character remains in all the gears.
The stock bike was not bad, but this is a whole other level.

This is my second ECU flash from Ivan. My Vulcan 1700 Classic after the flash runs (much) cooler, smoother, with an ease to it that is just "right".
(I went through just about everything to get that bike to run well before I discovered Ivan's ECU flash.)
Like others have said, Ivan is knowledgeable, available, and clearly cares about what he is doing.

I've ridden and raced and worked on my own motorcycles for 30 years and I don't know of any tuning trick or part or service that comes close
to the results Ivan's delivers for the money.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

John Ey reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
October 17, 2017 ·

First off let me start by saying how informative Ivan is & always so helpful in answering all of my questions.
I've had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2014 Kawasaki ZX-14R. Drivability & power are awesome!! What a difference!!

Just recently had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2008 Kawasaki Concours 14. The best flash I've had by far!!
I've had pretty much everybody's flash & wasn't happy until Ivan came out with his flash. Would never go any where else again.
Ivan's customer service is outstanding, he called 2 days after I received my ECU to see how my bike ran & how I liked it. AWESOME. Thank you Ivan

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kevin Hager reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
September 30, 2017 ·

I got the ECU flash on my bone stock 2017 Kawasaki Concours 14. I called beforehand and Ivan answered all my questions, and described a little bit about
what I can expect with the bike after the flash. Turnaround time was about an hour after he received it from fedex.


I finally got a chance to ride it after the weather cleared up and went out and put about 150 miles on it.
The flash performs beyond my expectations, more power everywhere, but especially in the low-mid range, pulls harder coming out of the same corners,
in the same gear as it did before, but the biggest surprise to me was the smoothness, very slight throttle
changes, produce instant results, no hesitation anywhere, not a hiccup one, and a lot less decel during gear changes
.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Roland J Cannon reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
August 31, 2017 ·

The Concours 14 reflash as well as the ninja/z 1000 second to none. Fast service, and perfection in tuning.
_____________________________________________

Follow up facebook post:

Roland J Cannon
to
Ivan's Performance Products
November 13, 2017
·

I promised an update once I spent some time on my Ivans reflashed concours 14. This got a bit long, but the update wont mean much without the background story.
I kept my 2008 concours 14 only because it was a good bike to carry a passenger with. Yes, I tried the power commander with the butterflies removed,
and the triple secret map... Maybe it helped the bike achieve a 6.5/10. Although it did help the low end, the on/off throttle response was still abrupt, jerky and inconsistent.
The bike was pretty good on long rides. Sadly, getting to a freeway meant the bike had to be ridden across town.
At slow, in town speeds, the low speed handling was awful. Weight matched up with a strange throttle was a terrible combination.
In the end, the bike spent a lot of time in the garage. After all, I had a "good" bike to ride...my Ivans flashed Ninja 1000.


Ive had the Concours 14 flash for about six weeks, and 800 miles. I look for excuses to ride it, and the Ninja got the winter cover, not my 14.
After all, the 14 has heated grips....that awkward, low speed feel is 100% improved now that the throttle does not fight me.


And for anyone else, dont get confused by other available flashes.. I waited for Ivans flash because he fixes the fuel cut.
If you dont mind a jerky on/off response, then choose any flash you want. However, if you want this issue addressed, Ivan is the only one who can do this.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________




Go back to my
MAIN CONCOURS 14 PAGE

See Concours 14 Variable Valve timing info on THIS PAGE

See how to remove your Concours 14 ECU on THIS PAGE

















































 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews |Testimonials