Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews | Testimonials
  

 



Kawasaki Concours 14
Reviews page



Here are Concours 14 reviews taken from my facebook page and other public sources....

https://www.facebook.com/Ivans-Performance-Products-163052890467739/



Scott Fontaine - (No Facebook)
Scott Fontaine's Consulting & Guiding.
Whitehorse , Yukon


July 2, 2018

This is my comparison review of 2 companies offering ECU upgrades.
I must clarify that it is not a comparison between 2 people, but simply 2 products available to the public.


I own a 2015 model C14 with the full AreaP system.


My initial ECU flash was installed by Shoodaben Engineering prior to the Instalation of the full exhaust system.
This flash did make a noticeable improvement in low and midrange power,
however the on-off throttle transition was not as improved as I had hoped for.


After the Instulation of the full AreaP system, I had Shoodaben upgrade the ECU to the appropriate flash.
The bike certainly felt fast but I was somewhat disappointed with the overall results and in particular the low and midrange roll on.
I have installed full exhaust systems on other bikes in the past and understand there can be low end power losses,
but I felt that there was more hidden in that motor.


After some additional research, I decided to try Ivan's Performance products Flash which the company has developed for this Exhaust system.


The difference in the way the bike runs is simply amazing.


Considerably smoother at all rpms.
On/Off throttle transitions are absolutely immaculate.
Zero Decal pop.
Sounds crisper.
Revs much quicker, throttle response is immediate.
Low and midrange roll on power is extremely strong, much better than just a slip-on, and the top end power!! Wow.


I feel the bike cannot run any better, smoother or stronger, than it does now.


I will add that the service of both companies is great, and again this is my opinion of two products.


****************************************************************

Ivan,

You are welcome to use this on your website or Facebook page if you choose ...
Thanks again,

Scott Fontaine

________________________________________________________________________________________

Jessie VaineoHurst reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
July 5 2018·


Chalk up another win for Ivan’s Performance. Just got it in tonight and went for short ride. Only 20 miles. WOW!
You hit the nail on the head with this one Ivan.

I fully expected to be impressed by the extra power, but was not fully prepared for the PHENOMENAL low speed manners.
Great job Ivan. I hope any bike I purchase in the future, you’ll have products for.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Jeremy (Jerderr on the COG forum)
http://forum.cog-online.org/ivan's-performance-products/now-it's-my-turn-for-a-review/

June 11, 2018

Okay guys, where should I start?
I guess by sending Ivan a big thank you for developing such a great and refined flash.
Thanks again Ivan.


Now on to the review:

The name of the game is SMOOTH. Everything feels smoother. Shifting, throttle response, vibrations are reduced, speed climbing happens FRIGGIN QUICK!
Be careful with this, or you will be seeing red and blue flashing lights on your rear view mirrors very quick ;)

The first night i put on the ECU when I got it back from Ivan's shop (mind you I'm in Canada, and shipping took literally 2 days,
Ivan had the ECU ready the day it arrived into his shop), I went for a 'quick ride' around my neighborhood; boy was it a quick one!
I was having so much fun with the newfound responsiveness and linear power, I had trouble keeping my bike under 180 km/hr! (115mph).

Shifting gears is super smooth, which before was notchy and annoying;
Now I actually look fwd to riding 2 up with my GF and not be banging heads every time I switch gears.
On that note, I like that I don't have to be conscientious constantly about my riding to be smooth, which is a huge nuisance on the stock bike!
Now I just ride the thing, and it is smooth straight out. I feel like an a$$, I should've done this as my first upgrade!

Mileage was pretty great, getting consistently 47 mpg at 130 km/hr (80 mph) over roughly 200 miles.

Vibrations were reduced; the way I noticed this was that before my hand would go numb from the buzz after 15 km or so,
and now I can hold the throttle for much much longer before that happens!


The engine decel reduction is one of my favorite aspects of this flash; now when I let go of the throttle I don't feel like I'm gonna go fliying over the handlebars!
Also, it is easier to be smooth in the twisties. I love how on-off throttle feels so much better!!!!
When stock and going at supersonic speed and releasing the throttle, the bike would "shake its tail" quite a bit before quieting down.
Now it does much much less of that, which is a huge improvement to me!

Downshifting is also so much smoother now, close to perfection I would say.

The engine, and the way it feels, a whole new chapter.
Definitely running cooler (it was a warm weekend here in Ontario and I didn't feel baked at no point, at all, even on traffic).
The engine literally feels 'happier' and freed, if that makes any sense. It finally feels like the 1400 cc inline 4 that it is.
It delivers power linearly (and a lot of it). Torque is always there. I did a roll on on overdrive, from 65 km/hr and was doing 120 km/hr in no time.
I really love how it pulls with so much authority now. Honestly my friends could not keep up with me on the twisty roads or on the highway!


If you are hesitating about doing this flash, stop hesitating and just do it. You will be glad you did, as I am!


To be honest, it feels like I was given a new and improved bike! Smoother, stronger, faster, and cooler.


Thanks Ivan, you outdid yourself!


JD
_________________________________________________________________________________________


Walt Hicks reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
May 28 2018 ·


I rode 5 hours to visit Ivan’s shop and demo his flash to compare with my current Shoodaben flash.
I ended up leaving with Ivan’s and can say that I’m done looking for a flash for my 2015 Kawasaki Concours 14.

This tune greatly impressed me as I was able to have back to back 5 hour runs for easy comparison.
This bike just can’t get any better. Not bad for a 10 plus hour day in the saddle.

The biggest thing that immediately impressed me was how smooth the engine felt.
Any buzzing or vibration that was felt through the grips before was just about gone. I had no issues with buzzing through the bars for the 5 hour ride home.
I actually found myself gripping too tight, especially through many triple digit sweepers… yes it’s that smooth.
The engine just seems happy spooling up to red line letting you know it’s a sport bike with greatly improved power delivery.
By improved power delivery I mean it pulls harder and more predictable than before.

Cruising around town is easy and smooth. No jerkiness like before, and the power is so smooth between 2k and 5k.
This engine now feels way more refined and dialed in compared to stock and other tunes I have had.
I wish more people could compare the differences between other tunes and Ivan’s like I have.
My exhaust even sounds less raspy as though there is increased efficiency about it and maybe even quieter if that’s possible, most likely because I am using less throttle.
This bike just got more enjoyable!

I do want to add that Ivan let me demo his C14 with the full Area P exhaust and tune.
I was blown away with the power and light throttle. I am not ruling out the upgrade from my slip on but we’ll see…
Great work Ivan!

By the way I had to submit this via my wife’s page because mine did not have any option to leave a review.

Walt Hicks

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lester Jones reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
May 29 2018 ·

If you want that Connie to run better than you ever dreamed just send that ECU in and thank me later.
All that jerky throttle issue is gone and driving in traffic doesn't have me visiting a chiropractor any more.

That first ride after plugging in that ECU was proof that I had made the right decision.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Barry Carl reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
April 26 2018 ·

This is my review of Ivan’s Concours 14 ecu flash.

I am not a techie. Although graphs, tables, and charts are available on Ivan’s web site to support my experience,
I won’t be referencing them because I don’t completely understand them and it would be disingenuous for me to use them as evidence for my riding impressions.

Also, although I’ve been riding for decades and I’m used to big bikes – after years on a Yamaha XS1100, I put 150k on a Honda ST1100 before moving on and
rode around Europe on a BMW R1200 RT – this is my first Kawi.

That having been said, there’s a huge positive difference between the behavior of the ecu on my 2016 C14 before and after the flash.
The first thing I noticed was the throttle response, which went from lagging and slow to immediate and zippy.

It made the bike feel more nimble. I was surprised that the flash could and would affect handling. Acceleration went from labored to light speed.
It feels like a different motorcycle.
Subjectively, riding it post-flash is a lot more fun. How’s that for a technical analysis? I mean, what’s the metric for fun?

Low-speed handling improved dramatically. No more surging, herky jerky throttle in slow traffic – a definite plus on my frequent trips into Manhattan.
Lower gears smoothed out considerably. Way less stress on me in stop-and-go situations. Deceleration also smoothed out by a lot.
No more engine grab when I let go of the throttle. Shifting is easier and smoother, especially from 1st gear into 2nd, and downshifting is smoother as well.

Maintaining speed and accelerating in top gear feels effortless like it’s not working hard anymore. Vibration is substantially reduced too, almost like an electric motor.
The bike runs cooler. By a lot. No more ‘bake the rider’. Grateful for that.

Gas mileage improved considerably.
And it seems that there’s more hp at any given speed so the engine revs lower to achieve the same speed as before the flash, hence better mileage.
Since this bike sucks up premium gas like it’s going out of style, I appreciate that.

The engine catches more quickly on cold starts. It was pretty quick before the flash, but it’s another thing that I have noticed.
All things considered, the ecu flash was definitely worth the bucks. And it only took about ten minutes. And I got a hat and t-shirt, so swag to boot. Not bad.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Kim Guidry reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
April 22, 2018 ·

I had just been to bike week in Daytona on my c14 and had a great trip (900 miles each way).
I have been tweaking this bike for 2 years with seat , handle bars , slip-on , highway pegs, etc.
After reading about the ECU flashes that would improve shifting and the fuel cut causing it, I wanted to try it.

After looking at all the people doing the flashes I picked Ivan due to his experience and equipment.
Yes I called and talked with him and sealed the deal. Its worked just as he told me , the bike is better all the way around.
If I ever need an ECU flash and Ivan has one, that's where its going. Thank You Ivan , your the real deal.

Lance Guidry

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kerry Brodigan reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
February 21, 2018 at 9:13pm ·



Ivan was excellent to work with. Very professional and knowledgeable. The ECU for my C14 has turned it into a different machine (for the better).
It shifts smoother, the jerky throttle is gone, and the bike is just overall better. Thanks for the awesome work Ivan!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scott Sheaffer reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star

November 15, 2017

I just had my 2015 Concours 14 flashed by Ivan's. I went out for a quick test ride and ended up being gone for several hours.
The bike runs cooler, smoother, with a whole new authority. It makes power everywhere and the midrange, in particular, is just incredible.

My very first impressions were driveability like a spotlessly tuned carbureted bike.
There is cohesiveness between the throttle, motor, and chassis. There is authority and tightness in the exhaust note, but it is not louder.
Engine braking is reduced and the transition from zero throttle to barely on is very much like carbureted. This character remains in all the gears.
The stock bike was not bad, but this is a whole other level.

This is my second ECU flash from Ivan. My Vulcan 1700 Classic after the flash runs (much) cooler, smoother, with an ease to it that is just "right".
(I went through just about everything to get that bike to run well before I discovered Ivan's ECU flash.)
Like others have said, Ivan is knowledgeable, available, and clearly cares about what he is doing.

I've ridden and raced and worked on my own motorcycles for 30 years and I don't know of any tuning trick or part or service that comes close
to the results Ivan's delivers for the money.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

John Ey reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
October 17, 2017 ·

First off let me start by saying how informative Ivan is & always so helpful in answering all of my questions.
I've had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2014 Kawasaki ZX-14R. Drivability & power are awesome!! What a difference!!

Just recently had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2008 Kawasaki Concours 14. The best flash I've had by far!!
I've had pretty much everybody's flash & wasn't happy until Ivan came out with his flash. Would never go any where else again.
Ivan's customer service is outstanding, he called 2 days after I received my ECU to see how my bike ran & how I liked it. AWESOME. Thank you Ivan

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kevin Hager reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
September 30, 2017 ·

I got the ECU flash on my bone stock 2017 Kawasaki Concours 14. I called beforehand and Ivan answered all my questions, and described a little bit about
what I can expect with the bike after the flash. Turnaround time was about an hour after he received it from fedex.


I finally got a chance to ride it after the weather cleared up and went out and put about 150 miles on it.
The flash performs beyond my expectations, more power everywhere, but especially in the low-mid range, pulls harder coming out of the same corners,
in the same gear as it did before, but the biggest surprise to me was the smoothness, very slight throttle
changes, produce instant results, no hesitation anywhere, not a hiccup one, and a lot less decel during gear changes
.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Roland J Cannon reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
August 31, 2017 ·

The Concours 14 reflash as well as the ninja/z 1000 second to none. Fast service, and perfection in tuning.
_____________________________________________

Follow up facebook post:

Roland J Cannon
to
Ivan's Performance Products
November 13, 2017
·

I promised an update once I spent some time on my Ivans reflashed concours 14. This got a bit long, but the update wont mean much without the background story.
I kept my 2008 concours 14 only because it was a good bike to carry a passenger with. Yes, I tried the power commander with the butterflies removed,
and the triple secret map... Maybe it helped the bike achieve a 6.5/10. Although it did help the low end, the on/off throttle response was still abrupt, jerky and inconsistent.
The bike was pretty good on long rides. Sadly, getting to a freeway meant the bike had to be ridden across town.
At slow, in town speeds, the low speed handling was awful. Weight matched up with a strange throttle was a terrible combination.
In the end, the bike spent a lot of time in the garage. After all, I had a "good" bike to ride...my Ivans flashed Ninja 1000.


Ive had the Concours 14 flash for about six weeks, and 800 miles. I look for excuses to ride it, and the Ninja got the winter cover, not my 14.
After all, the 14 has heated grips....that awkward, low speed feel is 100% improved now that the throttle does not fight me.


And for anyone else, dont get confused by other available flashes.. I waited for Ivans flash because he fixes the fuel cut.
If you dont mind a jerky on/off response, then choose any flash you want. However, if you want this issue addressed, Ivan is the only one who can do this.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________




Go back to my
MAIN CONCOURS 14 PAGE

See Concours 14 Variable Valve timing info on THIS PAGE

See how to remove your Concours 14 ECU on THIS PAGE

















































 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews |Testimonials