Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews | Testimonials
  

 

Testimonials Page



 

 

I am adding specific pages for each model - This is a work in progress.

 

Kawasaki

Kawasaki Concours 14 reviews




Yamaha

FZ09/FJ09/Tracer900GT/XSR900 reviews

FJR1300 reviews


_________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are just a few reviews taken from my facebook page and other sources ...

https://www.facebook.com/Ivans-Performance-Products-163052890467739/

Messages are not responded to on facebook - You still need to use the phone when contacting us.



Martin Hebert recommends Ivan's Performance Products.
May 28 at 10:31 AM · - 2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

I recently sent in my FJR1300es' ECU to Ivan's Performance Products for him to work his magic on my ECU.
My other bike is a 2nd Gen FZ1 that had been flashed by IPP in 2014 and found that my 2016 FJR1300es’ factory tuning
left a lot to be desired…

The turn-around time is worth mentioning…less than 24 hrs!

Right from the start, the throttle response is instantaneous and it pulls right off idle, without any hesitation whatsoever.

The power delivery is smooth and there is noticeably more of it... everywhere!

I normally cruise around 75-80 mph, right where the FJR’s engine had a slight increase of engine vibration...
Vibes have decreased by what seems like 50% in the 3.5-5k range.
Everywhere else in the rev range, you can feel that the engine is running much smoother than before.

Gone are the decel pops!

Ivan recommends mid-grade or better… tried both midgrade and premium unleaded…
no noticeable performance advantage from my butt-dyno… sticking to mid-grade.

Taking off from a dead stop, you right away notice that there is no more throttle lag and the way the power comes on is like
riding a perfectly jetted carburetor setup (for lack of better description).
Above 5500rpm the bike revs with authority, all the way to redline and never seems to run out of breath.
The flashed FJR will never be a ‘Busa killer, but my K1600 riding buddy is likely going to be seeing my taillights from even further than before.

The cruise control can now be engaged at any speed, in any gear… (Perfect for those never ending 30kph/20mph school zones) … other than that works like before.

Touring mode…feels pretty much the same as before… won’t elaborate, as I rarely use it.
I find the touring mode’s attenuated throttle response is sometimes practical, when the roads are slick/wet and also use it in stop and go city traffic.

“3RD MODE” > I haven’t had time to experiment. As we say in French>> “A SUIVRE…”

All in all, if you are looking to make your FJR rides more enjoyable, with moderate top-end gains and better power delivery “everywhere” … I highly recommend it.


______________________________________________________________________________________________


Posted
5/28/2019 by Dan (TorqWrench on www.tracer900.net) 2019 Yamaha Tracer 900

The ECU flash from Ivan's Performance did not disappoint!

I re-installed my ECU this weekend and although I didn't get to ride as much as planned I did get a few hundred miles in.
I paid close attention to how the bike performed at all speeds and functions as best as I could before I got the ECU flash and
then did the same after the ECU flash. I did not do any top speed tests or run each gear to redline or anything of that nature,
but I did ride aggressively at times, though I wasn't trying to outrun any MotoGP racers.

Here are my observations...

The bike feels smoother now in all rpm ranges, noticeably smoother. If you think you're happy with the bike as it is from the showroom don't ride one that has Ivan's flash, it will change your opinion.

I can easily stroll through low speed areas (25-35 mph) without the bike feeling like it is searching for the correct fueling.
Before the ECU flash the bike ran almost like it had bad gas when trying to maintain a steady low speed (2nd or 3rd gear in school zones, downtown areas, etc). You may not notice this much with the stock exhaust, but with a aftermarket pipe you will hear and feel this much more.

The throttle cut is no longer an issue. I tried like hell to feel a throttle jerk and I failed miserably (yeah!)

Normally my hands get numb after about 30-45 minutes, I rode 1.5 hours straight with no issues.

Cruise control now works in every gear which is nice when cruising through state parks and other long stretches of low speed areas. (oem settings for cruise only work in 4th, 5th and 6th gear)

I did not try using cruise control over 100 mph yet, but I'm sure it would work fine. Did someone say Autobahn??

Other than the ECU flash, the only other engine/performance mod I have done is a full exhaust. I rode with the baffle/db killer installed, have not ridden with it removed yet (very loud). I will probably try it soon just to see if there's any noticeable differences.

I highly recommend Ivan's ECU flash. I believe he is one of the most experienced and knowledgeable tuners available.
I was willing to pay the extra $ for his services. I have nothing against other tuners, I just have no experience with them and don't know how knowledgeable they are . Ivan has been around a while and he has never steered me wrong. This was not my first time purchasing from Ivan and I doubt it's the last time. I have never met the guy in person but he was very polite and answered all my questions and concerns.

I hope this is helpful, feel free to ask questions and keep the rubber side down,

Dan

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Email from
Scott S. in Texas (No Facebook) 2016 Yamaha FJR1300

February 4, 2019

I have been riding dirt and street since I was a kid, and I know what is good for motorcycle performance and what is a waste.
I don't normally give feedback on products because I am a busy guy, but in this case I wanted riders to know about your awesome ECU flash.

The 2016 Yamaha FJR1300-ES is a great bike with a few flaws from the factory.
I rode in the mountains near Mena Arkansas and the stock bike scared me with a delay in throttle response around a very tight turn in 1st gear,
and I had to use my brakes instead which was a result as the bike ignored my throttle input. I thought I was out of gas but that was not the case, it was the factory ecu setting and the exact items that Ivans performance ECU flash corrected.

I am a huge Yamaha fan, and I was dissapointed in the factory ECU performance, until I did a google search and Ivans performance products website showed up.
I read the details on the site and decided to try the ECU flash, and I am so glad that I chose Ivan because the ECU flash fixed every single issue that I had with the FJR1300. The Flash is worth more than he charges, do yourself a huge favor and send your ECU to Ivan, you will think that Yamaha should have hired Ivan to design the software from the factory. My FJR is much faster and safer now, It was an amazing change to the personality of my 2016 FJR1300.

Thank you Ivan for perfecting the FJR1300 ECU flash.

Please feel free to repost this email anywhere you think will help FJR riders to improve their ride.

Scott

Frisco,TX


________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Scott Fontaine - (No Facebook) - 2015 Concours 14
Scott Fontaine's Consulting & Guiding.
Whitehorse , Yukon


July 2, 2018

This is my comparison review of 2 companies offering ECU upgrades.
I must clarify that it is not a comparison between 2 people, but simply 2 products available to the public.


I own a 2015 model C14 with the full AreaP system.


My initial ECU flash was installed by Shoodaben Engineering prior to the Instalation of the full exhaust system.
This flash did make a noticeable improvement in low and midrange power,
however the on-off throttle transition was not as improved as I had hoped for.


After the Instulation of the full AreaP system, I had Shoodaben upgrade the ECU to the appropriate flash.
The bike certainly felt fast but I was somewhat disappointed with the overall results and in particular the low and midrange roll on.
I have installed full exhaust systems on other bikes in the past and understand there can be low end power losses,
but I felt that there was more hidden in that motor.


After some additional research, I decided to try Ivan's Performance products Flash which the company has developed for this Exhaust system.


The difference in the way the bike runs is simply amazing.


Considerably smoother at all rpms.
On/Off throttle transitions are absolutely immaculate.
Zero Decal pop.
Sounds crisper.
Revs much quicker, throttle response is immediate.
Low and midrange roll on power is extremely strong, much better than just a slip-on, and the top end power!! Wow.


I feel the bike cannot run any better, smoother or stronger, than it does now.


I will add that the service of both companies is great, and again this is my opinion of two products.


****************************************************************

Ivan,

You are welcome to use this on your website or Facebook page if you choose ...
Thanks again,

Scott Fontaine


_______________________________________________________________________________________


Jeremy (Jerderr on the COG forum)
http://forum.cog-online.org/ivan's-performance-products/now-it's-my-turn-for-a-review/

June 11, 2018

Okay guys, where should I start?
I guess by sending Ivan a big thank you for developing such a great and refined flash.
Thanks again Ivan.


Now on to the review: - Concours 14

The name of the game is SMOOTH. Everything feels smoother. Shifting, throttle response, vibrations are reduced, speed climbing happens FRIGGIN QUICK!
Be careful with this, or you will be seeing red and blue flashing lights on your rear view mirrors very quick ;)

The first night i put on the ECU when I got it back from Ivan's shop (mind you I'm in Canada, and shipping took literally 2 days,
Ivan had the ECU ready the day it arrived into his shop), I went for a 'quick ride' around my neighborhood; boy was it a quick one!
I was having so much fun with the newfound responsiveness and linear power, I had trouble keeping my bike under 180 km/hr! (115mph).

Shifting gears is super smooth, which before was notchy and annoying;
Now I actually look fwd to riding 2 up with my GF and not be banging heads every time I switch gears.
On that note, I like that I don't have to be conscientious constantly about my riding to be smooth, which is a huge nuisance on the stock bike!
Now I just ride the thing, and it is smooth straight out. I feel like an a$$, I should've done this as my first upgrade!


Mileage was pretty great, getting consistently 47 mpg at 130 km/hr (80 mph) over roughly 200 miles.

Vibrations were reduced; the way I noticed this was that before my hand would go numb from the buzz after 15 km or so,
and now I can hold the throttle for much much longer before that happens!


The engine decel reduction is one of my favorite aspects of this flash; now when I let go of the throttle I don't feel like I'm gonna go fliying over the handlebars!
Also, it is easier to be smooth in the twisties. I love how on-off throttle feels so much better!!!!
When stock and going at supersonic speed and releasing the throttle, the bike would "shake its tail" quite a bit before quieting down.
Now it does much much less of that, which is a huge improvement to me!

Downshifting is also so much smoother now, close to perfection I would say.

The engine, and the way it feels, a whole new chapter.
Definitely running cooler (it was a warm weekend here in Ontario and I didn't feel baked at no point, at all, even on traffic).
The engine literally feels 'happier' and freed, if that makes any sense. It finally feels like the 1400 cc inline 4 that it is.
It delivers power linearly (and a lot of it). Torque is always there. I did a roll on on overdrive, from 65 km/hr and was doing 120 km/hr in no time.
I really love how it pulls with so much authority now. Honestly my friends could not keep up with me on the twisty roads or on the highway!


If you are hesitating about doing this flash, stop hesitating and just do it. You will be glad you did, as I am!


To be honest, it feels like I was given a new and improved bike! Smoother, stronger, faster, and cooler.


Thanks Ivan, you outdid yourself!


JD

________________________________________________________________________________________

Scott Sheaffer reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2015 Concours 14 & VN1700 Classic
5 star

November 15· 2017

I just had my 2015 Concours 14 flashed by Ivan's. I went out for a quick test ride and ended up being gone for several hours. The bike runs cooler, smoother, with a whole new authority. It makes power everywhere and the midrange, in particular, is just incredible.

My very first impressions were driveability like a spotlessly tuned carbureted bike. There is cohesiveness between the throttle, motor, and chassis. There is authority and tightness in the exhaust note, but it is not louder. Engine braking is reduced and the transition from zero throttle to barely on is very much like carbureted. This character remains in all the gears. The stock bike was not bad, but this is a whole other level.

This is my second ECU flash from Ivan. My Vulcan 1700 Classic after the flash runs (much) cooler, smoother, with an ease to it that is just "right". (I went through just about everything to get that bike to run well before I discovered Ivan's ECU flash.)
Like others have said, Ivan is knowledgeable, available, and clearly cares about what he is doing.

I've ridden and raced and worked on my own motorcycles for 30 years and I don't know of any tuning trick or part or service that comes close to the results Ivan's delivers for the money.
_________________________________________________________________________________

John Ey
reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2008 Concours 14 & 2014 ZX14R
5 star
October 17·
2017

First off let me start by saying how informative Ivan is & always so helpful in answering all of my questions. I've had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2014 Kawasaki ZX-14R. Drivability & power are awesome!! What a difference!!

Just recently had Ivan flash my ECU on my 2008 Kawasaki Concours 14.
The best flash I've had by far!! I've had pretty much everybody's flash & wasn't happy until Ivan came out with his flash.
Would never go any where else again. Ivan's customer service is outstanding, he called 2 days after I received my ECU to see how my bike ran & how I liked it. AWESOME.

Thank you Ivan.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Kevin Hager reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2017 Concours 14
5 star
October 1· 2017

I got the ECU flash on my bone stock 2017 Kawasaki Concours 14. I called beforehand and Ivan answered all my questions, and described a little bit about what I can expect with the bike after the flash. Turnaround time was about an hour after he received it from fedex.I finally got a chance to ride it after the weather cleared up and went out and put about 150 miles on it. The flash performs beyond my expectations, more power everywhere, but especially in the low-mid range, pulls harder coming out of the same corners, in the same gear as it did before, but the biggest surprise to me was the smoothness, very slight throttle changes, produce instant results, no hesitation anywhere, not a hiccup one, and a lot less decel during gear changes.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Roland J Cannon reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2017 Concours 14 & 2011 Z1000SX Ninja
5 star
August 31 · 2017

The Concours 14 reflash as well as the Ninja 1000 flash, second to none. Fast service, and perfection in tuning.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

John Milligan reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2009 Kawasaki Voyager 1700
5 star
June 25 · 2017

I have read so many positive reviews on Ivan's I thought I would risk Taking off the Power Commander V Fuel controller that was installed on the bike when I bought it used (so throwing away that $400.00 investment that the previous owner made and also risk sending my ECU computer all the way across country to Ivan's. The ECU was back in my 2009 Kawasaki Voyager in less that a week from removal and I was back riding the following weekend with a huge grin every time I whacked open the throttle and saw that I had 1/4 tank of gas remaining at 160 miles when the low fuel light usually came on. WOW I am sure glad I did this!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________




Kenneth Threet reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — 2015 Kawasaki Z1000SX Ninja
5 star
September 2 -2017

Purchasing a bike with a known throttle issue and only having forum comments and Facebook posts that this little shop in N.Y. can fix it had me a bit concerned at the risk to say the lest. After not being able to disprove his product, and Ivan himself answering the phone and talking to me for what had to be 10 minutes I pulled the trigger and very shortly after sent in the ECU. Tracking let me know they shipped it back the same day it was received, wich today is almost unheard of.
After reinstalling it I had a hard time believing how much of an improvement it made. I've had this bike from the Gulf of Texas to over 14000 feet at the peak of Mt Evans in Colorado with out hiccup for a total of 21500 miles in just over a year now and am so glad I trusted in others.
Can't thank Ivans performance enough for the excellent work and look forward to their new releases.
HMM,...HMMM... Hint!!! 2017 N1K please?

Kenneth.
2015 N1K

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Jon Johnson reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — Kawasaki Vulcan 1700
5 star
September 20 - 2017

Sent out my ECU last week. Have ridden over 600 miles already from sea level to over 8000 feet. Bike performance far exceeds anything I thought possible. Performance is incredible. Mileage has increased. I was very skeptical about sending my ECU across the country but wow, IT is worth every penny. Anyone in So Cal with a 1700 Vulcan can contact me and I will meet you so you can see how great this bike runs now. K&N air filter, Cobra exhaust. No power commander, just Ivan's remapping. Incredible.

Thanks Ivan!!!!!!!!!!!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Adi Corrales reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — Yamaha Star Stryker 1300
5 star
February 28 2017

Wow is all I can say. I sent my ECU for flashing and the results are superb! Worth every penny and my bike behaves exactly as Ivan's flashing philosophy states. This shall be the first mod that any Star Stryker must do.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________



Robin Stotz reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — Kawasaki 1700 Vaquero
5 star
May 29 - 2017


Off the charts customer service and superior product, these people deserve more than 5 stars. From Arizona to New York ,reprogrammed and back to Arizona in 1 week flat wow. And this reprogram is like changing my Kawasaki vaquero from an old Harley to a Goldwing. There is so much xtra power and wow is this smooth it is so smooth it even makes the transmission super smooth.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Burtris Bruce Beard reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — ZX14R
5 star
May 28 - 2017


All three of my bikes have been tuned by Ivan. They all run great, I wouldn't change anything.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Matt Flaming reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — Yamaha FZ09
5 star
October 15, 2016 ·

Fixes all the wrong that Yamaha did to the ECU on the FZ09... perfection
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Joe Stroud reviewed Ivan's Performance Products — Yamaha FZ09
5 star
May 22, 2016 ·

Ivan flashed my Yamaha FZ-09 for me after I was not happy with the way it ran with another vendors flash.. .save yourself some time, money and aggravation and just get his flash right off the bat..there is really no comparison.

others may be cheaper, but they are cheaper for a reason.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Tom Bumpous reviewed Ivan's Performance Products —
5 star
May 29, 2014 ·

His products do exactly what he says they will do. I've used his well-developed parts for years with total satisfaction. Ivan is the real deal...! If he makes a mod recommendation, just do it because...he knows! He is easily among the best motorcycle tuners anywhere.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Navigate: Home | Find your bike | ECU | TRE | FCE| Contact | Other ProductsNews |Testimonials